Contents
Figure 1: Best Online AI Ethics Master's and Postgraduate Programs — five master's degrees, three certificates, and the word "online" doing a lot of unearned work
Search for an online AI ethics master's and you will get a pile of listings. Many aren't online. Some aren't master's degrees. One is for undergraduates only.
I read each programme's own page, so this list reflects what the programmes say about themselves, not what a search snippet claims.
What "Online" Actually Means Here
Treat the word "online" with suspicion. Of the five master's programmes I checked, the pages describe only one as online. Two are hybrid, one is on campus in the evenings, and one is on campus full-time.
| Mode | What it commits you to | Programmes here |
|---|---|---|
| Fully online | Study from anywhere, usually with live sessions in a fixed time zone | OPIT |
| Hybrid | Online study plus scheduled in-person sessions | Cambridge, Ulster |
| On campus, evenings | No travel while you study, but you must live near the campus | Birkbeck |
| On campus, full-time | Relocation, and no earning while you study | Edinburgh |
That matters more than the programme's name. A hybrid degree can require you to travel, take time off work, or live near a campus. Before you compare anything else, decide which of these you can live with.
The Master's Programs
| Programme | Mode | Length | Fees as stated | Entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OPIT MSc Responsible AI | Online | 1.5 to 2 years | €6,750 / €9,000 | Bachelor's plus B2 English; assessment without technical background |
| Cambridge MSt AI Ethics and Society | Hybrid, part-time | 21 months | £27,444 Home / £41,160 Overseas | Not stated in the detail I read |
| Birkbeck MA AI, Ethics and Society | On campus, evenings | 1 or 2 years | £5,835/yr Home part-time | 2:2 in any subject |
| Ulster MSc Ethical and Responsible AI | Hybrid, part-time | Up to 3 years | Not stated | Residency conditions, including settled status |
| Edinburgh MSc Data and AI Ethics | On campus, full-time | 1 year | Not stated | UK 2:1 or equivalent, IELTS 7.0 |
OPIT MSc in Responsible Artificial Intelligence (the online one)
OPIT's page describes the programme as online, taught in English, and lasting 1.5 to 2 years. You choose a 90 or 120 ECTS exit point. Tuition is €6,750 for 90 ECTS or €9,000 for 120 ECTS, with a 10% discount mentioned for paying upfront. The next intake is September 2027.
The entry bar is a bachelor's degree plus B2 English. If you lack technical background, you must pass an assessment. The curriculum is more technical than the others: Machine Learning, Programming for AI and NLP sit alongside Introduction to AI and Ethics and Human-Centered AI Design.
Here is the catch. The page says degrees carry full legal value in Europe "when their accreditation is completed," and it sends you to each programme page to check status. I could not confirm this programme's status, so ask OPIT directly before you pay. That single sentence is the difference between a degree and a promise.
Cambridge MSt in AI Ethics and Society (the prestigious hybrid)
Cambridge lists the course as hybrid (in person and online), part-time, 21 months, 180 credits. It starts 20 September 2027, and the application deadline is 25 February 2027. Fees are £27,444 for Home students and £41,160 for Overseas students. The page does not say whether those are totals or annual figures. Ask before you budget.
The page also does not say how many residential weeks you need. That is the number that decides whether this works with a full-time job. I would email the course team about it first.
Birkbeck MA in AI, Ethics and Society (cheaper, but you must be in London)
Birkbeck's page says the course is on campus only, in the evenings, with no online option. It runs one year full-time or two years part-time. It has 180 credits: two core modules, 60 credits of options, and a 12,000-word dissertation.
Fees are listed per year. For October 2027 entry, part-time costs £5,835 a year for Home students and £10,890 for international students. Doubling those for two years gives £11,670 and £21,780, which is my arithmetic. The page warns that fees for continuing students may rise. Entry needs a 2:2 in any subject, and Birkbeck may accept people without traditional qualifications.
The 2:2 bar is gentler than at most programmes here. That is a real advantage if your degree was not stellar, and it is the kind of detail a rankings table never shows.
Ulster MSc in Ethical and Responsible Artificial Intelligence
Ulster's page says part-time only with a hybrid model: each module has four on-campus sessions of three hours across a 12-week semester, and the rest is online. You study at least one module per semester and can take up to three years. The page does not state fees or credit values. The September 2026 intake has closed, and the page lists residency conditions including settled status.
Edinburgh MSc in Data and Artificial Intelligence Ethics
This one surprised me. A search listing called it "Online Learning," but the programme page lists one mode: on campus, full-time, one year, 180 credits, starting September 2027. The entry requirement is a UK 2:1 or equivalent plus IELTS 7.0. The page states no fee amount. Edinburgh may run or may have run an online version, but I could not confirm one. Check Edinburgh's own site before ruling it out.
The Postgraduate Certificates
Certificates cost less, take less time, and fit people who want the skills without a dissertation.
| Certificate | Credits | Mode | Cost as stated | Who can enrol |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Purdue Governance and Policy for AI and Data Technology | 12 credit hours | 100% online | $950 per credit hour | Bachelor's, 3.0 GPA, no GRE or GMAT |
| Aurora University AI Ethics | 12 credits | Fully online, asynchronous | Not stated | Degree-seeking students and students-at-large |
| Illinois Ethics and AI | 9 credit hours | Fully online | Not stated | Currently enrolled Illinois undergraduates only |
- Purdue: 12 credit hours, 100% online. It costs $950 per credit hour, which makes about $11,400 before fees. That total is my calculation, not a figure from the page. You need a bachelor's degree and a 3.0 GPA, and no GRE or GMAT. The page does not say whether the credits count toward a master's.
- Aurora University: three required 8-week courses, fully online and asynchronous, worth 12 credits. The page lists no tuition. Enrolment is open to degree-seeking Aurora students and to students-at-large, and it states no admission requirements.
- Illinois: nine credit hours, and you can take it fully online. It is available only to currently enrolled, degree-seeking undergraduates. If you already have a bachelor's, it is not for you. Searches still surface it, so I flagged it.
What the Numbers Say
I put the verified figures into a small script and checked it against the pages. The cost per credit, within each currency, came out like this:
| Programme | Cost per credit | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Birkbeck (Home, part-time, two years) | about £64.83 | £11,670 over 180 credits |
| Cambridge (Home, if £27,444 is the total) | about £152.47 | £27,444 over 180 credits |
| OPIT | €75 | €6,750 over 90 ECTS, and €9,000 over 120 |
| Purdue | $950 | Per credit hour, as listed |
I compare cost per credit only within one credit system, because UK credits, ECTS and US credit hours are not interchangeable. Do not line up £64.83 against $950 and call it a verdict.
The script also tested fit with four invented people:
| Persona | Programs that fit |
|---|---|
| Working abroad, needs a fully online master's | OPIT |
| Near London, can attend evenings | Five master's programmes |
| Wants a short online credential | Aurora, Purdue |
| Current undergraduate | Aurora, Illinois |
How to Choose
- Settle location first. If you cannot attend in person, cross off everything but OPIT, Purdue and Aurora.
- Match the credential to the goal. A master's signals depth. A certificate signals targeted skills. In my view, most working professionals do not need a dissertation to apply this material.
- Check technical depth. OPIT's curriculum is technical. Birkbeck's and Ulster's lean toward ethics, policy and society.
- Budget the real total. Ask whether fees are totals or annual, and what travel and visas add.
- Verify accreditation and recognition in the country where you will use the credential.
Step 5 is the one people postpone until after paying, and it is the only one that can invalidate everything else. The certification comparison covers the shorter credentials, and the free course list is the zero-budget route into the same material.
Questions to Ask Before You Apply
- How many in-person days or weeks does the programme require each year?
- Are the fees a total or yearly, and are there extras for exams or residentials?
- What is the accreditation status today, and how will recognition work where I live?
- Which live sessions fall in my time zone?
- Can the certificate credits count toward the full degree later?
Question 1 is the one that changes the answer. A hybrid programme with two residential weeks is a different commitment from one with six, and neither page tells you which you are buying until you ask.
Common Pitfalls
- Trusting the search snippet. "Online Learning" appeared against a programme whose own page lists only on-campus study.
- Assuming the fee is the total. At least one page here is ambiguous, and it is the most expensive one.
- Overlooking the residency requirement. Ulster's page lists conditions including settled status, which decides eligibility before academics do.
- Applying to a credential you cannot use. The Illinois certificate is undergraduate-only, and it still ranks in searches.
- Comparing cost per credit across systems. UK credits, ECTS and US credit hours are not the same unit.
- Skipping the accreditation check. One programme's page ties legal value to completed accreditation, which you should confirm in writing.
Best Book to Read
Three books give you the substance before you commit to a fee structure:
| Cover | Book | Description | Get it |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() |
Atlas of AI | the political and material context a good ethics syllabus is built on, and a fast way to test whether a programme's reading list is serious. | View on Amazon |
![]() |
The Alignment Problem | the technical narrative that separates programmes teaching ethics about AI from programmes teaching ethics and AI. | View on Amazon |
![]() |
Fairness and Machine Learning | the reference for the methods half, with a free online edition, so you can sample the depth before paying for a degree. | View on Amazon |
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links, and I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Check the edition date before you buy, and read one book from each programme's list before applying. It is the cheapest way to find out whether the syllabus matches your interests.
Unlock AI That Actually Works
Get lifetime access to GPT-6 Astra, Claude Fable 5.1, Gemini 3.5, Grok 4.5, and more — all in one platform. Build websites, apps, videos, content, and digital products from a single command. No monthly fees. No tool-hopping.
Click here to get GPTAstra Max now — one-time payment, lifetime access.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is there an online AI ethics master's degree?
Of the five master's programmes I checked, only one is described by its own page as online: OPIT's MSc in Responsible Artificial Intelligence, which is taught in English and runs 1.5 to 2 years with a 90 or 120 ECTS exit point. Cambridge's MSt is hybrid, Ulster's MSc is hybrid with four on-campus sessions per module, Birkbeck's MA is on-campus evenings only, and Edinburgh's programme page lists on-campus full-time as the only mode. If you cannot travel, OPIT is the only master's option here.
How much does an online AI ethics master's cost?
OPIT lists 6,750 euros for the 90 ECTS exit and 9,000 euros for 120 ECTS, with a 10 percent discount for paying upfront. Cambridge lists 27,444 pounds for Home students and 41,160 for Overseas students, without saying whether those are totals or annual figures. Birkbeck lists per-year part-time fees of 5,835 pounds for Home students, which doubles to 11,670 over two years. Ulster and Edinburgh state no fee amount on the pages I read. Always ask whether a figure is the total or per year.
Do I need a technical background for an AI ethics master's?
Not for most of these programmes. Birkbeck asks for a 2:2 in any subject and may accept people without traditional qualifications, and Ulster's programme leans toward ethics, policy and society. OPIT is the exception in the other direction: candidates without a technical background must pass an assessment, and the curriculum includes Machine Learning, Programming for AI and NLP. Edinburgh asks for a UK 2:1 or equivalent plus IELTS 7.0 but does not require a technical degree.
Can I do a Cambridge AI ethics master's part-time while working?
Probably, but you need the residential weeks confirmed first. Cambridge lists the MSt as hybrid, part-time, 21 months and 180 credits, which is shaped for people in work, but the page I read does not state how many in-person weeks are required. That number decides whether it fits alongside a full-time job and a non-UK location, so email the course team before you plan around it. The application deadline listed is 25 February 2027 for a 20 September 2027 start.
Are AI ethics certificates worth it compared with a master's?
It depends on the goal. A master's signals depth and research training, which matters if you want to teach, publish or move into policy work. A certificate signals targeted skills and costs far less: Purdue's graduate certificate is 12 credit hours at 950 dollars per credit hour, about 11,400 dollars before fees by my calculation. For most working professionals applying this material inside an organisation, a certificate plus a portfolio artifact is the better return, and no dissertation is needed.
Which UK universities offer AI ethics master's programmes?
The ones I checked for this comparison are Cambridge (MSt in AI Ethics and Society, hybrid, 21 months), Birkbeck (MA in AI, Ethics and Society, on-campus evenings, one year full-time or two part-time), Ulster (MSc in Ethical and Responsible Artificial Intelligence, part-time hybrid), and Edinburgh (MSc in Data and Artificial Intelligence Ethics, listed as on-campus full-time). All four are UK institutions, which is why location and visa questions dominate the decision for anyone outside the country.
Sources
- Cambridge Institute of Continuing Education: MSt in AI Ethics and Society — mode, length, fees and deadlines.
- Birkbeck: MA AI, Ethics and Society — evening-only mode, credit structure and fees.
- Ulster: MSc Ethical and Responsible Artificial Intelligence — hybrid structure and residency conditions. This site blocks automated requests, so open it in a browser.
- Edinburgh Futures Institute: MSc Data and Artificial Intelligence Ethics — the programme page listing on-campus full-time study.
- OPIT: MSc in Responsible Artificial Intelligence — online mode, ECTS options, fees and the accreditation wording.
- Aurora University: Certificate in AI Ethics — the three-course, 12-credit structure.
- Purdue's Graduate Certificate in Governance and Policy for AI and Data Technology — I could not keep a stable link to the certificate page, so search the exact title on purdue.edu.
- Illinois' Ethics and AI Certificate — undergraduate-only; search the exact title on illinois.edu. I could not keep a stable link.
Links checked on 21 October 2026. Tuition, intakes and modes change annually, and programme pages are often rewritten between cycles, so verify on the institution's own site before applying.
Wrapping Up
The best programme depends on where you live and what you want afterwards. OPIT is the only master's here that the pages describe as online, though you should confirm its accreditation. Cambridge offers the strongest name but hybrid attendance and unclear fees. Birkbeck costs far less if you can reach London in the evenings. Purdue and Aurora suit people who want focused skills without a full degree.
Pick your constraints, shortlist two programmes, and email each admissions team the questions above. Do that this week, because the 2027 deadlines come sooner than you think.
Which constraint is non-negotiable for you: location, budget, or the credential itself?


